CNU Memories: Botany Planted itself in my Heart

https://voyant-tools.org/?corpus=345c67cbd95f023beb7c44b0d28cc651

By: Teresa Francom

Edited by: Maggie McPherson and Abigail Sowalla

Kadi and I chose to use our Botany class from junior year as our CNU memory. When I first started at CNU, I thought the liberal learning requirements were going to be fun and get me to explore different fields, but they ended up just being mostly a waste of time. After signing up for Botany for my lab science, I figured it would just be like every other disappointing liberal learning class. Instead, it ended up being one of the best classes I’ve taken at CNU.

Dr. Ruane actually made me interested in everything plant related, something I’d never really cared about before. She’d bring in random plants almost every day and Kadi and I still bring up all the facts we learned in her class. It’s classes at CNU like Botany that remind me why I chose to go to a Liberal Arts university. Botany was successful in making me interested in a field outside of my own, and it was honestly one of my favorite memories of my time so far at CNU.

Kadi and I chose to digitalize Botany through Voyant. The Burdick claims, “The ease at which content can be repurposed in a digital form extends the capacities of the medium to function as a meta-medium” (55). By putting the definition of Botany into Voyant, it was easy to capture all the important things we learned from the class, and pull out what is most important to the study. It felt like the best way to represent the memory because it allowed us to capture all of it in a fun way. I think this can also be shown by the example from the beginning of the Burdick, when it is stated, “Digital Humanities is born of the encounter between traditional humanities and computational methods” (3). By combining botany with the digital world, we were able to more easily pull out the most important words found in botany. This is something it may have been hard to do with technology.

Leave a comment